Vegetarian Delight! The Thali Experience

Thali

After starting the blog with a flurry of activity in January, I haven’t updated it for a while! My excuse, nothing has really given me Goosebumps or inspired me…till now (Well that is my story anyway!!) I decided to take a wonder into Wembley and go back to my roots – Good old fashion vegetarian home cooking!

SB mid-week-lunch

Whilst walking I stumbled upon a place called “Saravanaa Bhavan” which seemed to be buzzing with patrons. Although there was a lot to choose from,  I ordered the Guajarati Thali which basically consists of a selection of various North Indian dishes. India’s answer to the tasting menu!  It consists of khichdi and kadhi (rice and lentil dish with a chickpea gravy), Shaaks (Peas curry, Potato curry, Broad Beans curry), chaas (butter milk drink), dhal and dhokla (derived from a fermented batter of rice and chickpeas) and of course rotli (indian bread). All this finished off with Gulab Jamun (Indian sweet consisting of a ball of deep-fried paneer boiled in a sugar syrup).

Gulab_Jamun__81340_std   dhokla

Each bite was nostalgic, I was taken back to the food I was accustomed to growing up. Admittedly back then I took the sheer delight of this type of cooking for granted but there is nothing like food to send you down memory lane. Each dish has its own uniqueness to it, each its own rightful place on the Thali. Definitely worth a visit. Not quite as good as my mums but the cloests I could get to in London anyway!

At £7.95 for all that, definitely good value! And with all that food you won’t need to eat dinner!

Other dishes at the restaraunt…

Idli Sambar Dosa

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

